top of page
  • Writer's picturelaura zibalese

Chakras for Beginners - The Apprentice Guide to The Seven Chakras

Updated: May 19, 2021

Chakra meditation. Laura Zibalese

The term "Chakra" is a Sanskrit word that means wheel or circle and refers to the vortexes of energy that exist in the human body, according to traditional Indian medicine. The chakras are gates of communication with the outer world and their activity sustains the overall wellbeing of the body. These energy wheels radiate a specific number of channels or ‘nadi’, known in the yogi tradition as energy petals.

There are seven main chakras, located along the spine.

The Root Chakra or Muladhara is located at the base of the spine, between the genitalia and the anus. It governs our survival, security and physical dimension. It is responsible for the fight or flight response and for the proper function of the kidneys. If it is out of balance, we experience depression, lack of safety, sexual dissonance, exhaustion and kidney ailments. Muladhara is represented by a 4 petals lotus flower that emits red energy. As children are conceived, this base chakra is functional and in control. It remains the most powerful energy wheel until around the age of 1.

Chakra lotus colors. Laura Zibalese

The Sacral Chakra or Swadhisthana is located in the lower abdomen and it’s linked to the reproductive system, sexuality, creativity, and emotions. It is symbolized by an orange 6 petals lotus flower. If unstable, we might have to deal with relationship issues, violence, feelings of being misunderstood or betrayed, turbulent emotions, addictions and genitalia maladies. The Sacral Chakra is consciously activated around 6 months of age and her strong influence last until the age of 2.

The Solar Plexus or Manipura is located in the stomach area and administers our sense of empowerment, receptivity, our digestive system and metabolism. Radiating yellow energy, it appears like a 10 petals lotus flower. If imbalanced, we struggle with a deep sense of powerlessness, depression, lack in self-worth and digestive issues. It can be deeply distorted by prolonged and overwhelmed fear. It’s activated around the age of 18 months and her profound impact last until the age of 4.

Chakras location and colors. Laura Zibalese

The Heart Chakra or the Anahata is found in the chest area and it is symbolized by a 12 petals lotus flower that emanates green or pink energy. It governs compassion, love, forgiveness, inner equilibrium, passion, and the circulatory system. If unbalanced, we experience a seemingly bottomless state of isolation, misery, lack of faith and devotion, hatred. This chakra develops between the ages of 4 and 7.

The Throat Chakra or Vishuddha administers self-expression, communication, and the creative flow. It is represented by a 16 petals lotus flower that emits blue light. It is connected with the Sacral Chakra, thus, disequilibrium in the latter also affect this energy circle. When Vishuddha is not aligned, we experience problems in communicating our emotions and thoughts, we struggle with cravings and we cannot access our inborn creativity. The development of this energy wheel takes place in the preadolescent period.

The Third Eye or Ajna is linked to the pineal gland and it is symbolized by a violet 2 petals lotus flower. When this chakra is opened and in harmony, we experience profound insights, our mental, emotional and spiritual horizons are broadened and we can access the fullness of being and presence. If unbalanced or closed, we find ourselves stuck in the pettiness of the mind and we struggle with self-imposed limitations that come from a twisted perspective. This chakra fully develops during adolescence.

The seven Major Chakras. Laura Zibalese

The Crown Chakra or Sahasrara is represented by a 1000 petals lotus flower that radiates white light. It governs our consciousness and connection with the sacredness of being. Fully opened, it allows the cosmic wisdom to flow through us, thus elevating the spirit and promoting detachment and centeredness. This chakra becomes active between the ages of 20 and 27.

All physical unbalances come from spiritual disaccords. Once the spiritual body is in alignment, a process of cleansing and restoration takes place on all levels of existence. Pure health always manifests from the inside out.

Come back soon to learn more about the Chakras.

Thank you for reading.

52 views0 comments


bottom of page